Detroit Hosts The 62nd Annual NAACP Fight For Freedom Fund Dinner - Opportunity Detroit

Detroit Hosts the 62nd Annual NAACP Fight for Freedom Fund Dinner

On Sunday, April 23 at 5:00 p.m., the Detroit NAACP Branch will host the 62nd annual Fight for Freedom Fund Dinner, a night where the community comes together to celebrate the NAACP’s many triumphs, recognize its tireless, century-long fight for equality, and renew support of its continued endeavors. The dinner will be held at the Cobo Convention Center. This year’s theme is “A New Era, The Same Cause…Justice!”

The Quicken Loans (QL) Family of Companies (FOC), Bedrock Detroit, and Jack Entertainment are proud to be the presenting sponsors of this year’s dinner.

Through their work in Detroit, QL, Bedrock Detroit, and JACK Entertainment and the FOC seek to positively impact the city by creating jobs that are filled by Detroiters and reinvesting dollars and time into the city we call home. The FOC shares with the NAACP a desire to change the narrative in Detroit and build a brighter future for the city by spurring growth through economic and community development.

The 62nd Fight For Freedom Fund Dinner will feature keynote speaker U.S. Senator Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.) and Dan Gilbert, founder and chairman of Quicken Loans, will serve as senior corporate chair of the event.

The evening will include a special tribute celebrating the women who play a vital role in leveling the playing field for all underrepresented populations. In addition, the NAACP is asking for all women to join together and wear white to the event as a symbol of solidarity for the event.

Join us on April 23rd by purchasing individual tickets, tables, or by becoming a proud sponsor. For more information and to purchase tickets, please call the Detroit NAACP office at (313) 871-2087.

Detroit Hosts the 62nd Annual NAACP Fight for Freedom Fund Dinner - Opportunity Detroit

Special Award winners include:

Ida B. Wells Barnett Freedom & Justice Award:

Joy Reid, host of AM Joy on MSNBC

Mary Church Terrell Award for Freedom & Justice Award:

Sally C. Yates, former Active U.S. Attorney General

Great Expectations Award:

Angelique Peterson-Mayberry, Vice President of the Detroit Public School Board of Education

Jaren Johnson, President of Eastern Michigan University’s Black Student Union

Darius Anthony, President of the college chapter of the Eastern Michigan University NAACP

Lifetime Achievement Recipient:

Maxine Walters

The NAACP is the nation’s oldest civil rights organization. Since its conception, the NAACP has sought to preserve freedom and dignity for African Americans and people of color, remaining a constant, stabilizing force in the fight for equality in housing, the workplace, the justice system and more.

Hence the theme, “A New Era, The Same Cause…Justice:” recognizing the importance of breaking down the racial barriers that still stand in the way of an equitable and inclusive future for Detroit and our great nation.

While this event honors the history of Detroit and the NAACP, the community is constantly looking toward the future, in the hopes of increasing opportunity and inclusion for all.

Click on a tab to select how you'd like to leave your comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *